My name is Wahid Zia. I am collecting stamps since the last 37 years (1980). I created a blog which includes the information of Pakistan all stamps. W/W new issues & all issues of Pakistan from 1947 to date are available on this blog. I invite you to visit my blog and get useful information.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Four postage stamps to celebrate Eurovision 2010

This year's stamps in the Norwegian Popular Music series are devoted to the Eurovision Song Contest, held in Oslo between 25 and 29 May.

The stamps feature the three Norwegian winning acts - Bobbysocks (1985), Secret Garden (1995), Alexander Rybak (2009) and Jahn Teigen. The latter was selected through a public vote.

This release not only marks the Eurovision Song Contest in Oslo, but also the 50th anniversary of the Norwegian national selections, better known as Melodi Grand Prix.

The Eurovision Song Contest is one of the longest running television programmes in the world and recent years' audience figures have been around 100 million.