My name is Wahid Zia. I am collecting stamps since the last 37 years (1980). I created a blog which includes the information of Pakistan all stamps. W/W new issues & all issues of Pakistan from 1947 to date are available on this blog. I invite you to visit my blog and get useful information.

Thursday, November 11, 2010

It has taken several months for the issue to finally be released but here it is no

The Spanish football team has won, for the first time in history, the World Football Cup and philately commemorates this event with a souvenir sheet depicting a snapshot of the winning team and the coveted trophy.

After a long month of competition, the 19th edition of the FIFA World Cup South Africa 2010 closed its doors on 11 July, with the triumph of the Spanish team against the Netherlands. Both teams played the final match at the Johannesburg Stadium where, in the second half of the extra-time, the Spanish team beat the Netherlands 1-0 and is now part of the annals of the history of world sport.

Tenacity, perseverance and good play is the constant of the Spanish squad of 23 players from different places and teams all over Spain who, led by an expert coach, played with the sole desire to win and have succeeded in it. Gone are the setbacks encountered during the competitive stages knowing that to succeed it was necessary to maintain a team spirit. This was stated by King Juan Carlos I at the hearing offered to the winners at the legendary hall of columns of the Palacio Real in Madrid where he thanked them for making dreams come true and said: “You are an example of sportsmanship, nobility, good game and teamwork, and you are an example of effort and spirit of excellence for future generations.”

The success of the Spanish team has become one of the most widespread news by the international media and the final match was watched by millions of spectators around the world. The Spanish team wears the star of the world champions which has become a symbol of identity placing Spanish football at the highest level. The World Cup is organized by the FIFA and is held every four years. It was founded in 1930 and the are eight countries that have won it: Brazil five times, Italy four, Germany three, Argentina two, Uruguay two, and France, England and Spain on one occasion each.

SOURCE: Spanish Post Office